Setting up an Ark Server

Hi,
I’m very new to this software. I followed these instructions:

I ended up with this:
I am aware that port 22222 is not default, but in Ark Server Manager, that is the port I have it set to. also when I grab a list of ports being used by Ark server manager 22222 does come up.
When I and my husband try to join via Steam server list we get a “Network Failure Message: Unable to query server info for invite”
When we try to join via Ark>Join Ark>Session Filter>Favorites we get “Joining failed: Connection timeout”

In the steam>Servers>Favorites, the server was created by copying and pasting this: “jonesserver-ark-22222.at.remote.it:33000”

Another thing to note: The firewall is set to allow “Ark Server” Through.

I feel like I nearly have this set up. If someone could just point me in the right direction I’d really appreciate it.

Remote.It will assign new ports to your connections in the 33000 and up range. You should use these ports when setting up your connection via Steam. Remote.It doesn’t need specific firewall rules unless you block outbound traffic which is not done in most cases. If you are going to use Remote.It you do not need to have your “Ark Server” rules. I will need to let someone else respond to the actual Ark setup.

thanks for the reply.

I set up the connection through Steam using the 33000 port.
With the current set up I am able to see (through Steam) the name, max player count, PvE, and other settings that I customized. It’s only when I try to actually play that I see the errors: “Network Failure Message: Unable to query server info for invite” or "Joining failed: Connection timeout

I would need to see where you are seeing this error message. Are you trying to use the connection via Steam server or local Steam? Remote.It will only work when connecting directly to the server, in the case of Steam this would mean you are running the Steam server directly.